automatically started program

Another program would be moved out from my automatically started list

I put my often used programs into $HOME/.xinitrc, to make them
automatically started by DM at booting, here is the end of this
.xinitrc:

export IME=scim
export GTK_IM_MODULE=$IME
export XMODIFIERS=@im=$IME
export QT_IM_MODULE=$IME
exec scim -d &
exec stardict &
exec VirtualBox &
exec firefox &

export TERM=xfce4-terminal
exec $TERM &

# finally start the window manager
unset WINDOW_MANAGER STARTUP

exec skype &
export WINDOWMANAGER=xfce4-session

exec $WINDOWMANAGER
exec qterm &

# call failsafe
exit 0

One of my often used programs that had been moved out of this list is
thunderbird (mutt before this), because I had been used to Gmail as my
mail reader.

For important or useful emails, I would tidy them up and archive them
in time, both stored in local and remote storage.

Another program that had been moved out is stardict. One reason is
that I have to install it in different distros I work with, and copy
those dics to $HOME/.stardict/dic. Another reason is the alternates I
had found.

One alternate is the web version of this dict, which have enough dics
can be self customized:
http://www.stardict.org/

Another alternate is Google's dict, with powerful functions such as
translating, look-up, and searching for words:
http://www.google.com/dictionary
This is my default page for native language:
http://www.google.com/dictionary?aq=f&langpair=en|zh-CN
in short, it is:
http://www.google.cn/dictionary

Which is the next? scim, i think.
But I have to choose one alternate, will try and decide one.

Then what next? skype, but not until gmail chat can do voice and video.

One thought on “automatically started program

Leave a Reply

